ABOUT

Gemma Pepper is a British artist and photographer living in Switzerland. She studied photography at Llandrillo College, Rhos-on-Sea, North Wales, Great Britain and at the University of Derby, England, Great Britain.  She also graduated with a Master of Arts ZFH in Art Education, with a Specialization in Curatorial Studies at the Zurich University of the Arts, Switzerland in 2021. Her analogue collages and fine art photographs have been presented and published internationally and are held in private and public collections. 

 

In her work practice, she seeks to suspend and transcend time and space, always searching for the connection between the past and the present. Further she explores the meaning of nostalgia and memory photographs as aesthetic objects and cultural artifacts. Accordingly, the following questions are always central to her work. What does a photograph do? What ideas and visions of the world's future can photographs reproduce by recontextualizing them into something new?

In her collages and assemblages, artist Gemma Pepper transforms old photographs of people and places into other realities. By adding found objects such as glass, thread, buttons and shells, she opens a window to another world. She shows reconstructed realities that are sometimes beautiful, ironic and sometimes disturbing.

Awards

2022

Honorable Mention ND Awards - Special Open Theme

Winner Vienna International Photography Award - Free Subject

Shortlisted International Photography Award - One Shot Colour

Shortlisted Lucie Foundation, Carte Blanche - Object Category

Shortlisted Fine Art Photography Awards - Open Theme

Shortlisted Sony World Photography Organisation - Creative Category

 

2013 - 2021

Winner Emerging Photographer Award - Feature Shoot

Shortlisted Bolton Art Prize

Shortlisted Brighton Student Art Prize

Shortlisted Neo Art Prize

Winner Community Foundation Award Derby

Winner Museum of Derby Award

 

2013 - 2021

- Winner Emerging Photographer Award Feature Shoot

- Shortlisted Bolton Art Prize

- Shortlisted Brighton Art Prize

- Shortlisted Neo Art Prize

- Winner Community Foundation Award Derby

- Winner Museum of Derby Award

 

Follow her on Instagram @gempepper to see her latest work.​​

ABOUT

Gemma Pepper ist eine britische Künstlerin und Fotografin, die in der Schweiz lebt. Sie studierte Fotografie am Llandrillo College, Rhos-on-Sea, Wales, Großbritannien und an der University of Derby, England, Großbritannien.  Im Jahr 2021 schloss sie den Master of Arts ZFH in Kunstpädagogik mit Spezialisierung auf kuratorische Studien an der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste, Schweiz, ab. Ihre analogen Collagen und Kunstfotografien wurden international präsentiert und veröffentlicht und befinden sich in privaten, sowie öffentlichen Sammlungen. 

 

In ihrer Arbeitspraxis versucht sie, Zeit und Raum aufzuheben und zu transzendieren, immer auf der Suche nach der Verbindung zwischen der Vergangenheit und der Gegenwart. Darüber hinaus erforscht sie die Bedeutung von Nostalgie und Erinnerungsfotos als ästhetische Objekte und kulturelle Artefakte. Dementsprechend stehen die folgenden Fragen immer im Mittelpunkt ihrer Arbeit. Was macht eine Fotografie? Welche Ideen und Visionen von der Zukunft der Welt können Fotografien reproduzieren, indem sie sie zu etwas Neuem rekontextualisiert werden?

In ihren Collagen und Assemblagen verwandelt die Künstlerin Gemma Pepper alte Fotos von Menschen und Orten in andere Realitäten. Indem sie gefundene Gegenstände wie Glas, Faden, Knöpfe und Muscheln hinzufügt, öffnet sie ein Fenster zu einer anderen Welt. Sie zeigt rekonstruierte Realitäten, die manchmal schön, ironisch und manchmal auch verstörend sind.

Auszeichnungen

2022

Honorable Mention ND Awards - Special Open Theme

Winner Vienna International Photography Award - Free Subject

Shortlisted International Photography Award - One Shot Colour

Shortlisted Lucie Foundation, Carte Blanche - Object Category

Shortlisted Fine Art Photography Awards - Open Theme

Shortlisted Sony World Photography Organisation - Creative Category

 

2013 - 2021

Winner Emerging Photographer Award - Feature Shoot

Shortlisted Bolton Art Prize

Shortlisted Brighton Student Art Prize

Shortlisted Neo Art Prize

Winner Community Foundation Award Derby

Winner Museum of Derby Award

Folgen Sie ihr auf Instagram @gempepper, um ihre neuesten Arbeiten zu sehen.